4CPhotoshop

 

To get accurate images for this blog, I scan everything at a high resolution – roughly to the point at which my flatbed scanner ceases to capture additional photographic detail. At full screen resolution, they’re huge. Printed at 300dpi, most would probably be 8 or 9 inches wide. (I haven’t tried printing many; I like the illuminated stained glass quality of the screen image.)

Original size:

Cllick through for full documentary scan size:

While the images zing around the blogosphere (thank you!), one thing I’d hoped would happen – but apparently hasn’t – is that people would grab these large files and do things with them. (For instance.) As far as I know, 4CP is the only stock library on the web of big images of printing and paper detail from the classic period of comic book production. There are authentic styles, textures, patterns, and palettes here, waiting for appropriation and mutation.

My computer graphic design/photo-manipulation skills stop at (or before) the “in-house comp” level. However, I was recently chuckling about the continuing existence of all those pre-set filters in Photoshop that seemingly haven’t changed in a dozen or more years. And then it hit me that I’d never experimented with the manipulation of 4CP images.

I was curious to fiddle around, because the most common manipulation of old comic art is concerned with “restoring” it for book republication – pulling the black illustration out, eliminating the paper, and adding back non-dotty color. It’s about getting rid of all that surplus, accidental visual information that’s tangled up with the art on the original printed comic book page.

Obviously, my blog reveals my aesthetic obsession with that surplus visual information. So I was curious about how it would behave when manipulated. Instead of using Photoshop to purify the image – aiming to simulate the inker’s original boards – I figured I’d “remove the dots” by blending illustration, color, and paper into an inextricable whole. There's a crapload of "data" in these files, and they behave in unpredictable ways. 

At original size on the printed page, comic book details taunt the eye with microscopic implication – beauty too far away to really see, but the mind reels and extrapolates nontheless. Blown up, that beauty is limited to the documentary truth of a particular printing process. It is often fantastic, but its relationship to what you see, feel, and imagine when viewing it as one square inch of comic book is debatable.

So, in fiddling around with Photoshop, I was imagining the different ways enlarged comic book details might look, had comic art been created, and comic books printed, in different ways. At original size, my manipulations are nearly indistinguishable from the originals – which is to say, enlarged comic book details might look like this on other planets. Anyhow, all you people who like this blog and actually know how to do graphic design on a computer - grab some files, make some stuff, and tell us where to see it!

12 responses
Hey John, Great blog! I look forward to your posts every week. Ive been creating pop art for a while now and since stumbling here Ive found a few posts that have really inspired me. http://thewoj.com/shop/fighter-plane/

Keep up the great work, its been a real treat!

Steve, that fighter plane is fantastic! Thanks for pointing me at it. If you think of it, let me know when others are finished. -John
Is there anywhere we could download larger resolutions of the images you are posting?
What equipment do you use to scan the images? Any tips on scanning?
Bill, I have a budget Canon scanner ("Lide" series) that must be six years old by now.

Key scanning tips are:

Scan at a very high resolution, even if you plan to end up with a much smaller image. I scan from 800 to 3500 dpi, depending on the size of the area I'm scanning. Basically, you need your dpi to be considerably larger than the "dpi" of the comic itself, or your scanner will extrapolate colors that aren't "really" there. I think you could go as low as 400-500 and still get a true image, but I'm over-precautious.

Make sure your page is totally flat against the scanner. I pile two books on mine. The smallest wave in the paper will result in an obvious blur at this level of enlargement.

Turn off all your scanner's filters. You don't want any "correction."

Ensure that the image you scan has at least some black ink and some clear "white" paper in it. You can delete what you don't want later, but having black and some white gutter or speech ballon in your original scan makes the next step work:

I usually apply Photoshop's "auto levels" to my scans. It'll set the blackest part of the black to true black and the whitest part of the paper to true white. However, because in a high resolution scan the paper is not uniform but is instead 1,000 shades of khaki/yellow/brown, you'll still get an image that's true to the original - just brightened up with good contrast.

Oh, and Grant, if you're still there. Sorry I didn't reply. If you roll over the images on the blog, a menu will pop up that invites you to download the image. Click on that to get to the large file.
hi i just found your collection and love the eye for detail, i plan on using these as source of inspiration just as you had mentioned hoping, thank you for taking the time to compile and archive these historical artifacts!
Thanks so much for the information! I have been playing for a long time scanning and manipulating old postcards, prayer cards, Mexican loteria cards, etc. I scan them at super high resolution and love the effect. Your site is right up my alley.

My scanner had been struggling lately, so today I purchased a Canon Lide 700F, based on your recommendation. It can go up to 9600! So psyched to get it.

Love your eye for what and where to scan - keep it up!

Thanks again,

Bill

Quoting
Bill, I hope that Canon works out for you. I was none too pleased with mine for color photography when I got it, but it has been great for the comics. Obviously, yours is many generations newer!

If you post your scans anywhere, please let me know where to look. I like all the print culture you listed in your comment.

And thanks for the compliments!

John

2 visitors upvoted this post.